Are Oreos really vegan? Here's a deeper dive into the facts.
![Cover Image for Are Oreos really vegan? Here's a deeper dive into the facts.](/my-seo/_next/image?url=https%3A%2F%2Fimg.tripi.vn%2Fcdn-cgi%2Fimage%2Fwidth%3D1240%2Cheight%3D620%2Fhttps%3A%2F%2Fgcs.tripi.vn%2Fpublic-tripi%2Ftripi-feed%2Fimg%2F481045vnQ%2Fanh-mo-ta.png&w=3840&q=75)
Oreos are a fan favorite snack across the nation, enjoyed by people of all ages. But it doesn’t stop at cookies—Oreo cakes, ice cream, puddings, and various treats are also widely adored.
With their creamy filling, it might seem surprising that Oreos could be a vegan option. But many new vegans are excited to find out they can still enjoy their beloved cookies! So, are Oreos truly vegan? Here's what you need to know.
![packaging](https://img.tripi.vn/cdn-cgi/image/width=700,height=700/https://gcs.tripi.vn/public-tripi/tripi-feed/img/481045pDM/anh-mo-ta.png)
Are Oreos Vegan?
Many vegans call Oreos “accidentally vegan,” meaning they don’t contain animal-derived ingredients, though they weren’t specifically made with vegans in mind.
Oreos are free from milk, eggs, and other animal-based ingredients, so they are technically vegan. Plant-based cookie lovers, rejoice!
However, there are a couple of important considerations:
- Since Oreos are produced in factories that use animal products, there’s always the chance of cross-contamination (something to consider if you have a severe allergy or dietary restrictions that strictly prohibit dairy, eggs, or animal products).
- Some vegans define veganism as more than just the absence of animal products in food and may consider general animal welfare in lifestyle choices. That’s why you may see cosmetics or hygiene products labeled “vegan.” This not only means they don’t contain any animal derivatives, it means they are not tested on animals and no animals were harmed in the making or extraction of the product or ingredients. Some vegans see animal welfare as the most central tenant of veganism. Therefore, they consider ingredients that may harm animals during their production as not vegan.
According to the company, "Many OREO products are suitable for vegans, but may have traces of milk due to cross-contamination, so always check allergen warnings. A full list of our Vegan-certified products can be found on The Vegan Society Website."
Oreo Ingredients: Vegan or Not?
Let’s take a closer look at each ingredient:
- Unbleached enriched flour: This is the standard flour used in processed foods. “Enriched” means it contains added vitamins and minerals like folic acid and B vitamins. This is a plant-derived product and is vegan.
- Palm oil: While it is technically derived from plants, many people do not consider palm oil vegan because the harvesting process can be detrimental to the environment. Some vegans may abstain from Oreos because of this.
- Sugar: Similarly, white sugar uses the charred bones of animals in the processing from raw sugar cane to table sugar. The bones of livestock are charred to produce carbon, which is used to filter the sugar and remove the color and impurities. While there is no trace of bone or the charred carbon it produces in sugar, some vegans may avoid Oreos because animals have to die to produce this ingredient.
- Soybean oil and/or canola oil: Both these oils are made from plants and are vegan.
Oreos also include small amounts of flavorings and preservatives, such as cocoa, high fructose corn syrup, leavening agents, salt, soy lecithin, and artificial flavors—none of which are animal-derived and are considered vegan-friendly.
![packaging](https://img.tripi.vn/cdn-cgi/image/width=700,height=700/https://gcs.tripi.vn/public-tripi/tripi-feed/img/481045sYe/anh-mo-ta.png)
Which Oreo Flavors Are Vegan?
Most Oreo flavors are vegan, including the Classic, Double Stuf, Mega Stuf, Golden, and Thins varieties.
Other vegan-friendly Oreo flavors include Peanut Butter Creme, Java Chip, Chocolate Creme, Birthday Cake, Mint Creme, Dark Chocolate Creme, Lemon Golden Oreos, Black and White Cookie, Caramel Coconut, Carrot Cake, Chocolate Marshmallow, Gingerbread, Pumpkin Spice, Halloween Orange Boo, Red White and Blue, Space Dunk, Tiramisu Thins, Mint Thins, Lemon Thins—and likely many more as seasonal options are introduced.
However, if you’re overseas, be sure to check the ingredients, as formulations may vary by region. For instance, some peanut butter-flavored Oreos in the UK aren’t vegan.
Which Oreo Flavors Are Not Vegan?
- The fudge-coated varieties are not vegan, as the fudge coating contains milk.
- Toffee Crunch Oreos contain confectioner’s glaze, which, depending on where you are geographically, can be made with shellac (a product derived from beetles).
- Oreo Cakesters are not vegan, as they contain milk and eggs.
When in doubt, always review the ingredient list. If you spot eggs, milk powder, lactose, whey, casein, carmine, or gelatin, the product is likely not vegan-friendly.
Evaluation :
5/5